I’ve been gone for a few days and apparently the queue decided not to work while I was gone, so I’ll fit in those posts in over the next few days.  I went down to the Big Easy…New Orleans, Louisiana.  New Orleans will be the topic for this post, but the trip in general will inspire a few days worth of material, I’m sure.
I guess I’ll start with some history.  New Orleans was founded May 7, 1718 and named for Philippe II, Duke of Orléans, who was Regent of France at the time.  After some swapping between the French and Spanish, it landed in French hands.  These cultures meeting on the banks of the Mississippi River are what resulted in the distinct style of architecture that make New Orleans so unique today.  At one point, New Orleans was actually the largest city in the South, but has since been eclipsed by Houston, Dallas (I consider Texas part of the New South, not the traditional), Atlanta, and Miami (though I don’t consider Florida a Southern state in any sense of the word, minus geography).
Today, New Orleans is a welcoming, progressive city, all while holding on to the distinctive Southern Charm.  The people of New Orleans are bright and smiling, a patchwork of various cultures, like the architecture of the city itself. New Orleans is an incredibly gay friendly city, especially it’s downtown and French Quarter districts.  You can’t throw a stone and not hit some kind of Gay Pride symbol of some sort in the latter.  Also the home of Jazz, you can’t go anywhere downtown and not hear a random brass band.  While I was there, I stayed in a converted French rowhouse near the corner of Rue Saint-Philippe and Bourbon.  It was BEAUTIFUL!  Here are a few photos.  The first few are from my phone, so I apologize for the quality, but they get better!
Our Rowhouse

Our Front Door

The Bungalow

The Bungalow Ceiling

The Courtyard





The Courtyard Kitty

And like I said, Gay Pride is everywhere!  It was actually a bit odd to be the majority at times.  But I liked it, lol.  And got used to it quickly.  After getting home, I felt a bit out of place for a while.
We only went to one club while in New Orleans, but we had a blast.  “Oz” is a gay club on the corner of Rue Dumaine and Bourbon, just a block from where we were staying.  It was a lot of fun!  It was pretty much a top 40 dance club with a tiny bit of off the charts music.  There were go-go boys as well, if you’re into that.  I’m not so much, but they were nice to look at.



My good friend (on the right) and I (on the left).


I would definitely recommend this club for a good time.  I’m not a huge club person, but I had a blast!  As always, the people were great and it’s open until the wee hours of the morning.
As far as other eateries, for a nice meal I recommend the French Market Restaurant at the corner of Rue Saint-Philippe and Rue Decatur.  The wait staff couldn’t have been a whole lot more professional or helpful.  The food was amazing and the chef has nightly specials.  They can be a bit pricey, but well worth it.  I had the most amazing seafood pasta dish I’ve ever had.

For a good diner meal or quick breakfast (with a wonderfully flamboyant staff) I The Clover Grill at the corner of Rue Bourbon and Rue Dumaine.  The jukebox was playing constantly, as if the banter of the staff wasn’t entertaining enough.  And the food was great.  It’s a small place, so there may be a little weight outside, but they get people in and out as quickly as possible.  I don’t think we ever waited more than 5 minutes or so and we ate there a couple different times.  And it’s  open 24 hours, you can get a little something to soak up the booze whatever time you may get done drinking…for the day.

A good Irish pub what you want?  Go to Flanagan’s Pub on Rue Saint-Philippe, between Rue Royale and Rue Chartres.  It’s open 24 hours, the staff was very friendly, and the drinks reasonable.
And of course, it’s not a trip to New Orleans without beignets at Cafe du Monde on Rue Decatur near Rue Sainte-Anne. Those little French pastries get me every time!

One place I’d stay away from would be The Corner Oyster Bar & Grill on the corner of Decatur and Rue Saint-Peter just southwest of St. Louis Cathedral.  I had an fried oyster poboy there and it wasn’t good.  I don’t think the oysters were cleaned properly and the tomatoes on it were spoiled, they tried to tell a friend of mine that they couldn’t make a frozen margarita with tequila in it, and our waitress was absentee.  When she wasn’t, she was pretty much a bitch.
One of the interesting things about New Orleans is that, at least in The French Quarter, there is no anti-open container law.  You can walk around and drink to your heart’s content.  That being said, there are open air bars where you can grab a giant daiquiri and keep on going.  Or do a few shots.



And last, but not least, here a few photos from our daily excursions.



St. Louis Cathedral

Joan d’Arc